Weather , , 0°F

Chicago Blues

Killer Ray Allison and Chicago Blues All Stars Among 2015 Chicago Blues Hall of Fame Inductees

October 03
00:02 2015


Chicago, IL – This year’s Chicago Blues Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place at the world famous Buddy Guy’s Legends club. The list of inductees reads like a who’s who of Chicago blues.

Being inducted at the Legendary Blues Artist level are record producer and writer Richard Sherman, Artie White, “Killer” Ray Allison of the Chicago Blues All Stars, singer Deitra Farr, and Donald Kinsey. Also being recognized at the Legendary Blues Artist level are Tail Dragger, Jody Williams, and Sam Lay.

Being inducted at the Master Blues Artist level are Martin Lang, Michael Charles, Melvin Smith, Bernard Beanie Reed, Sir Walter Scott, Paul Filipowicz. Also being inducted at this level are songwriter Robert A. Jones, and Daniel Ivankovich aka “Chicago Slim,” member of the Chicago Blues All Stars.

Being inducted at the Great Blues level are the Chicago Blues All Stars – great blues band, and all its members: Anji Brooks, Carl “C.C.” Copeland, Daniel Ivankovich a.k.a. “Chicago Slim,” Daron Casper Walker, Garrick Patten, Jerry Porter, Johnny B. Gayden, Johnny Cotton, Kenny Anderson, and “Killer” Ray Allison. Other inductees include Medina Alao, Sheryl Youngblood, and Randy Johnson as Great Blues Artists.

Rosa’s Lounge had several inductions including Legendary Blues Club, Mama Rosa Sciannameo –  Legendary Blues Club Owner, Tony Mangiullo – Legendary Blues Club Owner and Manager, and Amberly Stokes – Legendary Blues Club Promoter and Manager. Another Chicago institution earning several inductions is Kingston Mines. This well known venue is inducted as a Legendary Blues Club, and Doc Pellegrino and Frank Pellegrino as Legendary Blues Club Owners.

The Windy City Blues Society, Lori Lewis president, is inducted as a Great Blues Society, and Lewis herself as an Ambassador from Chicago. The well known caretaker of folks on Chicago’s mean streets, Dr. Daniel Ivankovich, is inducted as a Great Blues Doctor.

Other inductees are Guy Powell as a Great Copy Editor, Robert Jr. Whitall as Editor in Chief, and Shirley Mae Owens as Senior Editor for Big City Rhythm & Blues Magazine. Of course, Big City Rhythm & Blues Magazine is inducted as a Legendary Blues Magazine. Rounding out this year’s field of great inductees is Connie Carroll, being inducted as a Great Photographer.

This year’s ceremony will take place at Buddy Guy’s Legends. The event begins at 2:00 p.m. with host, Michael Packer. Scheduled to perform are Willie “The Touch” Hayes, Mike Wheeler, Melvin Smith, and Michael Packer. The event will be broadcast live by WNUR 89.3 FM “The Blues Show.”

For more information, check here.

About Author

Barry Kerzner

Barry Kerzner

For as long as I can remember I have loved music, especially Blues & Jazz. Now I write and share that love of music with others. To see my photoart, visit

Related Articles


Mailing List

Subscribe to the Chicago Blues mailing list! All Chicago. All Blues. No Spam.

Search for some Blues…